I’m not a snob

To quote something which my paternal grandmother once informed my maternal grandmother, brother and I once: [Of course, everyone knows that] I’m not a snob.

This comment was in relation to an opportunity which she could have in her younger days. Not long after making this observation about herself she noticed that my brother and I had brought the milk bottle into the living room instead of pouring the milk into a milk jug. Maybe in the same breath as telling us that she wasn’t a snob, Grandma was telling my brother and I off, informing us I do own a milk jug you know!

From time to time I wonder if I share any characteristics with Grandma. I’m aware that I have ‘quirks’, but I don’t think that they constitute to me being a snob.

Today I went for a walk and took with me a flask of tea, a flask of hot soup and microwaved (reheated) sausages, and a lump of cake which we bought en-route. I also, in my rucksack, took my ‘plate bag’ which I use for camping. It usually lives in my car, so when I am out and about, I can sometimes have a picnic by myself without eating from wrappers. I use the rationale that I’m just being ‘sophisticated’ and ‘classy’.

12247043_10156272450630434_6635309665274839232_n
Elevenses
12243091_10156272450795434_1717339234311265728_n
Lunch

I think I can apply logic to my lunch – it would have been hard to eat my soup and sausages straight from the flask – but the tea flask has a decent sized lid for me to drink from. My walking buddy was making himself hot chocolate in his flask lid, but there I was, pouring my tea into a cup and slicing myself a bit of cake with every tea break. I can apply logic to the cake on a plate, too – it was a bit crumbly, and I wouldn’t have wanted to waste any by it falling on the floor.

So, I’m thinking that it’s just common sense to take crockery on an outside venture. I can quote Grandma and apply it to myself.

I’m not a snob.

2 thoughts on “I’m not a snob

  1. Great to see you back blogging again. I really need to get back into blogging too – I don’t think I’ve written anything since about May this year.
    I think Grandma was saying “I do own a milk jug, you know” not a milk bottle, lol. She’s also your paternal grandmother not the maternal one. x

Leave a Reply

